civil engineering advisory board


CEAB Mission

The Civil Engineering Advisory Board commits to sharing its professional experience as practitioners and leaders for the purpose of providing expert guidance to LTU in the education of engineers, ultimately supporting the University’s overall Mission and Vision. The Board meets regularly with LTU faculty to discuss current needs and future trends in the Civil Engineering industry, advising on best industry practices, technology, areas of industry growth, curriculum, outreach, and opportunities for the professional community to engage with students for their continuous success.

CEAB Vision

LTU’s Civil Engineering programs will be nationally and internationally recognized for rigorous emphasis on engineering fundamentals, innovative research, and challenging hands-on learning projects that are delivered in a progressive, multicultural environment. The Board’s contribution results in an exceptionally well-prepared, diverse generation of engineers capable of independent learning, practical application, and global leadership to improve their communities, our profession, and society.

Advisory Board Members

As leaders in the civil engineering community, the eminent board members listed below have provided leadership and guidance to the civil engineering program over most of the previous decade.

  Mark Chaput, P.E.
Deputy Director, Bureau
of Field Services, MDOT
     James J. Cole, Jr., AIC, CPC
Brinker Team
Tom Doran 95 Thomas Doran, P.E.
Principal/Vice President (Retired)
Hubbell, Roth & Clark, Inc.
  George Fadool, P.E.
Chief Compliance Officer
Skanska USA  Inc.
gregory_photo Cheryl L. Gregory, P.E.
Vice President
Director of Engineering   
Spalding DeDecker Assoc., Inc.
  James E. Like
Christman Constructors
Andrew Rener, P.E., D.B.I.A.
Vice President of Operations 
Bouma Corporation
  William Rohleder, Jr., P.E., S.E.
Senior Vice President/Project
Development FIGG
David I. Ruby, P.E., S.E. FASCE
Chairman, Founding Principal
Ruby & Associates, PC
  Ian Schonsheck, P.E.
Schonsheck Inc.
Lami Taweel, P.E.
TES Consultants, PC
  Scott J. Thieme

Scott J. Thieme 
Asst. Chief, Planning, Programs & Project Mgt.
Division, U.S. Army Corps of Engineer, Detroit District

Benedict Tiseo, P.E.
NTH Consultants, Ltd.


Emeritus Advisory Board Members 

Richard O. Anderson

Richard O. Anderson, P.E., Dist M ASCE

Principal Engineer
Somat Engineering, Inc.

Daniel G. Fredendall, P.E.
Executive Vice President

Kirk T. Steudle   

Kirk T. Steudle, P.E. (BSCE '87)

State Of Michigan Department of Transportation